Thohild County
Community Calendar
Career Opportunities
Public Notices
Business Directory
Fire Bans

2017 Election
2017 Municipal Election

#TCVotes2017 - Voter Information

When and Where to Vote

Voting will take place on the 16th DAY OF OCTOBER, A.D., 2017, between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m.  Voting stations will be located at:

DIVISION 1:              Radway Agri Centre - 5108 - 51 St., Radway, Alberta

DIVISION 2:              Egremont Community Hall- 4904-50 St., Egremont, Alberta

DIVISION 3:              Thorhild and District Community Hall - 11 - 7th Ave., Thorhild, AB

DIVISION 4               Abee Community Hall - 5005 - 50th Ave., Abee, Alberta

DIVISION 5               Newbrook Community Hall - 4801 - 50th St., Newbrook, Alberta

ADVANCE VOTING will take place at the following:

Friday, October 6, 2017 from 4:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. at the Newbrook Community Hall located at 4801 – 50th St., Newbrook, Alberta

Wednesday, October 11, 2017 from 4:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. at the Radway Agri Centre located at 5108 – 51 St., Radway, Alberta

Saturday, October 14, 2017 from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at Newthorad Seniors’ Housing Foundation (Thorhild Lodge) located at 302 – 2nd Ave, Thorhild, Alberta

 All County residents may attend the advance polls if they are unable to vote on Election Day. 



Number of Vacancies

Electoral Division Number



Division 1



 Division 2



Division 3



Division 4



Division 5

What You Will Require

In order to vote, electors must produce identification for inspection.  The identification must be one or more of:

a)    One piece of photo identification with name and address that is issued by a Canadian government (federal, provincial, local or an agency thereof)

i)    Operator/Driver’s License

ii)  Government Photo Identification, or 

b)    One piece of identification authorized by the Chief Electoral Officer under the Election Act with name and address as required by Section 53 of the Local Authorities Election Act.

A list of approved ID allowed under b) can be viewed at

Municipal Election 2017 Official Candidate List 

2017 Official Candidate List

Municipal candidate information

Are you interested in running for Council? Find out everything you need to know in our "Municipal Candidate Information Package

Candidate Training Opportunity: 

The SLGM in partnership with Alberta Municipal Affairs is offering five (5) training sessions for potential candidates and their campaign workers in Calgary, Edmonton, Lethbridge and Grande Prairie. There is no charge for these sessions – but the attendees must register. The registration form is live on the site.

Candidate Training Flyer SLGM 2017.pdf


Eligibility requirements for nomination: 

  • Is eligible to vote in the election;
  • Has been a resident of the local jurisdiction and the ward, if any, for the 6 consecutive months immediately preceding nomination day; and
  • Is not otherwise ineligible or disqualified.

Important dates:

Nomination Day: 10:00 a.m. and 12:00 noon on Monday, September 18, 2017

Deadline for Nomination withdrawal: 12:00 noon, Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Election Day:  Monday, October 16, 2017.

For more information contact: 
Wayne Franklin, Returning Officer
Thorhild County
801- 1st Street, Thorhild, AB T0A 3J0